• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I have a situation and I need help. Please?

9 posts in this topic

I'm new to note collecting. Not new enough to be considered green, but growing up with a decent coin collection and a sprawling stamp collection, I knew enough about numismatics to know that there's a system to grading. I have a certain tack in mind when I buy and I'm sure I'm not the only person who implements this: I look for ungraded notes that, when graded, will produce a piece a little more valuable than what I paid for it. Hey, it makes me feel better, since I don't have money falling out of my .

So, I buy this note off of a dealer, ungraded, and I congratulate myself, because the price is right and I can't even find a crease - let alone a fold - in the photo of this 1899 series $1 bill. When I got it in the mail, I couldn't believe the condition of it. It looked like it'd been sitting in a bank vault for a hundred years. I thought, for a minute, that I just bought a fake, but then my nose said it smelled just like money. Amazing, it had the same bewitching smell back then that it has today. And, it was the same bill from the picture in the add: just the tiniest of tiny folds right in the corner, that's it.