• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Question on Currencies

4 posts in this topic

Hi.  I am new to the currency collecting world.  

I am interested in collecting Asian currencies.  Currently I am looking for currencies from North Korea to add to my collection.  I found a handful of sellers that have them available in both paper and coin formats, but they are in China.  I was able to find a few dealers that have them here in the US, but limited denominations.

My question is, given the current US trade restrictions/sanctions that are in effect against North Korea, is it illegal for me to buy NK currency from sellers in China?  I wouldn’t think it would be because there are a handful of currencies from other so called “Axis of Evil” countries that are available for purchase in the US such as from Iraq and Iran.  

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.  Also if anyone knows of sellers in the US that have NK currency, I would be happy to know.  I purchased a few NK notes from a gentlemen in Florida and a coin store in Colorado.

Seems like China would be the most logical place to acquire NK currency. I highly doubt that buying NK currency from a seller in China, or the US for that matter, is illegal. It's not like you're trying to buy a rhino horn or elephant tusk, I wouldn't let it stop me. 

I see NK stuff on eBay from time to time but it's expensive as it is hard to find.