• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

PMG Announces Next-Generation Holder and Label

6 posts in this topic

Hello,

I've been collecting banknotes for the last 5 years and I have more than 1000 notes certified by PMG. One of the main reasons I choose PMG graded notes among the other grading conpanies is beacause of the label. Your previous label was much more appealing, it looked more sophisticated and complete with the border around the edges. The new design is much more simplified and it looks like it has been rushed. Actually, it looks more like PCGS label, which I don't think it's a good thing. I also noticed on many auctions that PMG graded notes get more attention and prices quickly go up, compared to similarly graded notes. I personally believe one of the reasons for that is the more sophisticated and well designed label. I wish at least that you have left the option for your clients to choose if they want the new or the old label design,  when they submit notes for grading.

Best regards

Val

On 5/3/2020 at 1:58 AM, Valchooo said:

I also noticed on many auctions that PMG graded notes get more attention and prices quickly go up, compared to similarly graded notes. I personally believe one of the reasons for that is the more sophisticated and well designed label.

I suspect you're seeing some of the fall-out from the death of PCGS Currency. They still have PCGS Gold Shield but I think that whole thing has soured a lot of people on PCGS for currency and made PMG look a lot safer and more reliable and stable vs PCGS. PMG/NGC/CCG and PCGS are generally the top two in coins and currency and with PCGS slitting their own throats that leaves PMG as the clear leader alone at the top.