• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Trying to learn so don't shoot me for this (likely) stupid question:

4 posts in this topic

What is the difference between a red seal and a blue seal note from the 1950s and before? I'm going to be trying to pick up a few books on this stuff to learn a bit more on my own but I hope you guys will humor me on this one. I'm confused. ???

I'm far from an expert on paper but here goes.

The Red Seal notes are United States Notes and are the decendants of the Legal Tender notes of 1862. They are legal tender but had no real backing. The backing behind the notes were simply more government securities on deposit with the Treasury. (The only real difference between the United States notes and the Federal Reserve Notes is the authority issuing them, either the Treasury (red seals) or the Federal Reserve (green seals) )