• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Going rate for...

8 posts in this topic

Hello all,

I made what I call a very 'fair offer' on a 1917 $1 PCGS 65 PPQ note (FR 39). The seller actually, to my surprise, declined the offer. I was just wondering, to make sure, I am not in a world where demand for this note has skyrocketed, what is the going rate for a note like this?

Am I missing something here? Even a PMG graded 65 EPQ sold last for $480 via Heritage (in May 2010) if I am not mistaken. By those means, I would be paying well over $100 more than this price...

If someone has accurate pricing date, please let me know...

I am a newbie to currency and have been confused sometimes by asking prices.

Maybe some of the veterans can shed more light on this.

But from what I can tell, Heritage auction prices are more like dealer bid than dealer ask.

Also, the price of the note depends to some extent on what the dealer paid for it; he doesn't want to lose money on his inventory.

That said FR-39 is a relatively common note and it looks to me like it should go for $500 to $600.

FWIW there is a guy on Ebay now selling two consecutive for $1200.

Hope this is somewhat helpful.

- Jon

Actually one just sold for $425 on teletrade, I believe...

This note seems to be a common note and not worth much even in high grade. I can get a 64 EPQ for around $375 at present time and a GEM is not worth almost 40% more...

I thank you for the help though, but luckily I was able to research this more and more...

Good job mintcollector, I’m still learning but know to pay what its worth, and

hold out for a good price, unless you really need it.

Most of the eBay Buy-Now are more than auction current market prices.