• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

EPQ...or not?

9 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am new to this wonderful hobby and I have a quick question that maybe an experienced collector could answer for me. I bought a PMG 64 1928 $1 Silver Certificate off of eBay. I love the note and I kind of got into a small bidding war over it. It was the first note I purchased. Since then I bought several more; however this is the only note in my collection without the EPQ designation.

Therefore my question is this: do collectors covet the EPQ designation? Does it make this note (again a 1928 silver cetificate) worth less? Should I upgrade to a EPQ note or not bother? If anyone can help, let me know. I collect for investment and for fun (and of course the love of the hobby). I am just wondering if I should buy another note with the EPQ designation instead. Would you 'upgrade' if it was your note? Thanks for your help and I appreciate your time.

Shawn

hello, heres my commnets:

do collectors covet the EPQ designation? - EPQ is prefered.

Does it make this note (again a 1928 silver cetificate) worth less? - not to me

Should I upgrade to a EPQ note or not bother? - maybe for a good price

Would you 'upgrade' if it was your note? - only if i can find a good price.

for me, i'm collecting currency the way i collect coins, get one of each then upgrade, unfortueatly some upgrades can be very expensive and i prefer to complete my collections. watch your budget.

from what i have seen - rare and high grade notes seem to be the ones that increase and decrese in value the fastest .

have fun.