• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Hi Everybody - I'm a Newbie !!!

6 posts in this topic

yay.gif

Greetings from Sunny Central Florida!!

I am new to currency collecting. I think the art work on the large notes is just WOW! ... then add that I love the Civil War era - now those pesky lil fractional notes are creeping into my coolection .... and I can't pass up a $100 star note!

I have met a lot of really nice people in this "hobby" ... HOBBY ? - yeah right!

This is a major addiction.

I have alot to learn about this stuff.

I've talked to many people on the phone, asked questions, and you know what - for the most part, most everybody is willing to share information.

I'm still in sticker shock on some of these notes ... but one day I will be able to step up and play with the rest of you big boys.

I'm not a high falutin' big dog, high roller. I'm just the average Middle class American Male that is now interested in Currency.

The most I have spent (my wife pert ner' skin't me alive) was $2,000 for a Bison.

THAT WAS A stretch for me .... but at least I have a Bison .... on to the next item on the wish list.

80 % of my note collection is PMG58EPQ ... don't ask me why... that's the way this thing sort feel into place ... so I'm going to stick with that ... besides - it seems the PMG58EPQ are in my price range ...Oh ... just for the record - I only have 28 notes.

I'm happy with that grade ... I don't "HAVE TO HAVE" the higher grades ... I'm collecting for fun. Besides - I'm a blue collar worker and the higher grades are outta' my financial reach anyway!

Well .... here I am ... the new guy on the board.

yay.gif

Hi, PMG58EPQ hi.gif