• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What's Your Favorite Currency/Reference Book?

8 posts in this topic

Greetings,

My name is Jay and I'm a researcher here at PMG. In case you forget either my name or my title just look at my name :)

A little about the job: not only do I see cool notes, but I get to research them and track information down about them. This includes searching through books. This is something that actually excites me. I find it fascinating.

Yes, our library is rather large. However, it could always be bigger.

The question I pose is simple... What's your favorite book on currency? This could be a reference book, novel, informational, or otherwise.

I'll start. (A very hard choice for me). Currently my favorite book is Les Billetes de la Banque de l'Indochine by M. Kolsky & M. Muszynski. It's in both English and French for most of the book, and the parts that aren't can be easily translated through a web translator such as this one. It has just a ton of information for the Bank of Indo-Chine.

If you're interested in checking it out go here.

Neither PMG, CCG Nor JaytheResearcher are getting any compensation, monetarily or otherwise for the promotion of the above book

Lettow: A great book with loads of information in it.

For those of you unfamiliar with the book it's written by Fred Schwan and Joseph Boling with the complete title being World War II Remembered: History in Your Hands, a Numismatic Study. A absolute complete work of all things numismatic during the Second World War.

There is an excellent book "Dutch Banknote Design 1814-2002" by Jaap Bolten that I highly recommend if you are interested in the history of Netherlands paper money.