• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Flabbergasted!

9 posts in this topic

...or how my first submission may be my last.

Currency Journal for August 3, 2012

Okay, I am new to currency, but not new to collecting in general. When I won the free grading from PMG, I didn't want to waste it with just any old note. I decided on a $2 FRN Millennium note in the original BEP packaging. I carefully judged it against the criteria that PMG has listed on their site. This note was sweet... glass smooth with no hint of handling, razor sharp corners, and centering that was nearly perfect; only the top and bottom margins were slightly off. Based on the criteria, I judged it to be 67 or 68. Just learned the results:

64 NET - Thinning

Now, I'm assuming that NET is the equivalent to Details grading in coins. I don't know what 'thinning' means, so I'll be investigating that. A quick search says something about paper loss, but I'm not sure. What I am sure about is that I am very diasppointed, and very skeptical on how a note that nice can be grade out NET, and 64 at that. Here is the grading scale directly from the PMG web site:

Superb Gem Unc

Margins or registration are off slightly to the naked eye. No significant handling.

Superb Gem Unc

Great color and eye appeal. A well-centered original note. May have very minor handling.

Gem Uncirculated

Above average original note held back from superb quality due to handling and / or margins and registration.

Gem Uncirculated

Strictly original note with great color and eye appeal. May have one or two minor distractions. Centering is above average.

64 EPQ

Choice Uncirculated

Original paper quality, but centering is off on one or two sides.

Choice Uncirculated