• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

New to the paper collecting

7 posts in this topic

I'm new to this type of collecting but find it very interesting - i have a few questions i'm hoping people can answer.

1) how does one find silver certificates $1 in blue or red ink ? do you go to a bank and find them or a coin show ?

2) how do you find money that hasn't been issued to the public ?

3) is there a big difference in red or blue or even green ink on any type of bills ?

I know this sounds stupid but just haven't found info on this stuff yet.

Thank you :grin:

Welcome to paper currency collecting.

You are making a good first step....ask questions.

First thing to do is educate yourself. Buy books, (new or used) pertaining to the type of currency you will be collecting. There is an excellent thread on page 2 with loads of websites pertaining to currency collecting, it's called "I'm in the mood to spend some money - what is your favorite currency site ? "

Second thing to do is visit auction houses, ( eBay, Heritage, Lynn Knight, Spink-Smythe, etc ) to compare what's out there you find interesting, and this may help in determining what you like and what you can afford. Coin & Currency shows are an excellent way to see the currency close up and you can start to develop grading skills and building relationships with other collectors and dealers.

An educated collector seems to enjoy the hobby more.