• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Question on 'STAR' Notes...

8 posts in this topic

Hello,

Could someone please tell me what the big deal is concerning STAR notes? Believe it or not, I actually don't collect them and tend to avoid them. I personally don't understand why they carry such a high premium. Now I am NEW to the hobby, so maybe someone can educate me as to why they are so much in demand?

I thank you for your time once again!

When an error on a regular note is caught by the workers at the BEP they pull the note, destroy it, then replace it with a star note. Stars are replacement notes. Some star notes have errors and that is even more interesting to some because the note was replaced then messed up again. That kind of mistake sells for good money. Another thing, some star note runs are small. One $10 star note run is only 9600 notes printed making them very collectible.

Hope this helps some.

The information posted by Goldmine is inaccurate. Many decades ago, notes that were spoiled were at a later date made up for by printing star notes at the end of the regular run. As you can imagine the number of star notes printed was much less than the regular notes, and are very rare in some of the earlier series. Modern runs have star note runs, but they have nothing to do with replacing spoiled notes. Presumably the BEP makes star note runs to maintain tradition (?). Modern star note runs are in smaller quantities than the regular runs, so collectors are attracted to them because in theory they are scarcer -- although if a higher proportion of star notes are saved relative to the regular notes they may ultimately be less scarce.