• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Tampered with PMG holders.

3 posts in this topic

I'm new to collecting currency and the few pieces that I have bought so far are all encapsulated in either PMG or PCGS holders. When I have showed them to friends or family they almost always ask me one same question. Are they real? Most of my buys were through Heritage Auctions so I assume that they examine these holders to make sure they are legitimate holders and have not been tampered with, before passig them onto their clients. I have made purchases on ebay and compared the PMG holders they were in to the ones I bought through Heritage Auctions and they look the same. While reading some of the negative feedback that buyers gave sellers on ebay I ran across one or two that stated the holders were tampered with.

1) DO THESE HOLDERS HAVE TAMPER PROOF PROTECTION?

2) HAVE THERE EVER BEEN ANY PHONY HOLDERS FOUND WITH A COUNTERFEIT NOTE INSIDE?

3) CAN THE AUTHENTICITY OF A NOTE BE VERIFIED WHILE IT IS INSIDE OF A HOLDER OR DOES IT HAVE TO BE RMOVED?

• Administrator

We have never encountered a tampered with or counterfeit PMG holder. Because labels include the unique serial number of notes and the holders are standard in size, deceptively tampering with holders is difficult. There are a number of anti-counterfeiting features incorporated into the label such as UV responsive paper and micro-printing.

We do also offer Certification Verification on our website for Collectors Society members which allows you to double check the information on a note's label with the information contained in the PMG database.

Dealing with a known and trusted dealer is also a great first line of defense.