• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

My First Note - $20 National Currency

14 posts in this topic

Hey

I am just getteing started coin collecting. I just acquired my first note. It is a $20 national note. What do you think about it? Any guesses on what it might grade or its value? Any other info on these notes are welcome. I have found out they were actually printed in 1933 I think and that there were like 18000 different banks that made them.

IMG_0878.jpgIMG_0879.jpg

IMG_0870.jpgIMG_0871.jpg

If it was issued by a Fed branch, I could see $40, but this is a real national with a relatively low serial number, so I could easily see it higher. Keep in mind though I am by no means an expert on nationals!

I would say it is a Fr 1802-1 , in G/Vg condition so around $50-$75 depending on demand . It is a low number , not a single or double digit , though.

Doesn't appear to have any tears or holes , just discolored and full of creases . Looks like a keeper to me , but I do not have any idea of the number from that particular bank that have survived , as like Jeff , I'm not exactly a National Bank Note Guru .

Jaime , I'll bet that you looked at the current price figures for the Fed Reserve Bank Notes , under the 'A' district in VG ( Fr 1870-A ) versus the National Bank Notes

Let me step in here.

You have a small size 1929 national bank note. The book value is $300 and there are 14 other small size known on that charter. I would call the condition fine, maybe even 20 in VF.

If you are going to be serious about collecting, you need to get Kelly's 6th edition, bottom line.