• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Polymer notes???

7 posts in this topic

There was a recent article in the ANA magazine about polymer notes. I never really thought much about paper, but I'm liking these. I just bought about a dozen or so of them from eBay for $20.

I'm not trying to "invest" in notes, or at this point build any particular kind of "set". Just make a really colorful, interesting album, something I can educate my kids with, and accumulate new issues.

So help a newbie out, what are some of the "best" polymers?

Although I am a newbie to coins and currency, I believe Australia was one of the first countries to issue the polymer notes. The notes are sprayed with a special coating that is more water resistant than untreated notes. (Sort of like Turtle Wax for a car).

The notes should have a longer a "shelf life".

Cheers!

N

Although I am a newbie to coins and currency, I believe Australia was one of the first countries to issue the polymer notes. The notes are sprayed with a special coating that is more water resistant than untreated notes. (Sort of like Turtle Wax for a car).

The notes should have a longer a "shelf life".

The notes are not sprayed. They are made of a multi-layer polymer substrate developed by the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) primarily to combat counterfeits. The substrate is only marginally more expensive than paper and lasts a little longer. Polymer notes has features that makes counterfeiting difficult.